Sonic Underground

From Sonic Retro

For the LCD game, see Sonic Underground (LCD game).
Sonic Underground
Studio: DiC Entertainment
Number of seasons: 1
Number of episodes: 40
Original airdate: 1999-08-30 — 1999-10-22

Sonic Underground is an animated Sonic the Hedgehog television series produced by DiC Entertainment in 1999. It was the third cartoon to be produced by the company and was established as an entirely separate show from its predecessors, Adventures of Sonic the Hedgehog and Sonic the Hedgehog, which both started airing in 1993.

Sonic Underground features Sonic the Hedgehog and his siblings Sonia and Manic attempting to find their mother, Queen Aleena Hedgehog and stop the tyrannical Dr. Robotnik.


Sonic, Sonia and Manic are the children of Queen Aleena, the original ruler of the planet Mobius before Dr. Robotnik seized power. They travel around Mobius looking for their mother, while being chased by Dr. Robotnik and his bumbling bounty hunter sidekicks Sleet and Dingo. Robotnik wants to stop the children due to a prophecy made by the Oracle of Delphius (a spoof of the Oracle of Delphi of Ancient Greece), which states that the Queen's three children will one day find their mother and end Robotnik's reign.

The three hedgehog siblings have magical amulets that not only change into musical instruments but also weapons when the triplets are in perfect harmony with each other. Sonic's amulet is an electric guitar/gun, Sonia's amulet is a keyboard/gun, and Manic's amulet is a drum kit/earth controller. The three use the amulets not only to fight Robotnik's forces but also as instruments for their underground rock and roll band, "Sonic Underground".



Sonic Retro emblem.svg Main article: Sonic Underground/Development

During the run up to the launch of the Dreamcast, Sega heavily advertised all their big products and for Sonic, they contacted DiC Entertainment, who previously made both SatAM and Adventures of Sonic the Hedgehog, to make a new Sonic cartoon. Sonic Underground's development dates as far back as March 1997 (according to the show bible scans seen in the interview with Robby London included in the Sonic Underground Complete Series, Vol. 1 DVD release by Shout! Factory)[1], before the development of either the Dreamcast or Sonic Adventure started.


The show first premiered in France on January 6, 1999 on TF1, then in UK on May 2, 1999 on ITV1 and finally in the US on August 30, 1999 on the syndication block, Bohbot Kids Network, which was shown on networks like FOX, The WB and Sci-Fi Channel. Due to low popularity, Sonic Underground ran for only one season consisting only of 40 episodes. Since then, the reruns of the show can be found sometimes on many different networks.

Voice actors

Role Voice Actor (English)
Sonic the Hedgehog Jaleel White
Samuel Vincent (singing voice)
Sonia the Hedgehog Jaleel White
Louise Vallance (singing voice)
Manic the Hedgehog Jaleel White
Tyley Ross (singing voice)
Sleet/Athair Maurice LaMarche
Doctor Robotnik Gary Chalk
Queen Aleena Hedgehog Gail Webster
Dingo Peter Wilds
Knuckles the Echidna Brian Drummond

Localised names

Also known as
Language Localised Name English Translation
English Sonic Underground Sonic Underground
French Sonic Le Rebelle Sonic The Rebel


Country Television channels
Flag US.svg United States
Flag UK.svg United Kingdom
Flag FR.svg France
  • TF1 (1999-01-06 — 1999-05-23)
  • Mangas (2010)
Flag PT.svg Portugal
Flag ES.svg Spain
Flag AU.svg Australia
Flag DE.svg Germany
Flag NL.svg Netherlands
Flag IT.svg Italy
Flag GR.svg Greece
Flag CY.svg Cyprus
Flag TR.svg Turkey
Flag PL.svg Poland
  • KidsCo (2007-09-07 — 2013-04-30) (only first 26 episodes)
  • Puls 2 (2013-08-05 — 2014-11-12) (only first 26 episodes)
  • Top Kids (2015-12-01 — 2020-01-31) (only first 26 episodes)
Flag HU.svg Hungary
Flag RO.svg Romania
Flag CL.svg Chile
Flag CA.svg Canada
Flag PH.svg Philippines
Flag KR.svg South Korea
Flag ZA.svg South Africa
Flag RU.svg Russia
Flag LB.svg Lebanon

Home releases

Sonic Retro emblem.svg Main article: Sonic Underground/Home releases

Magazine articles

Sonic Retro emblem.svg Main article: Sonic Underground/Magazine articles


External links


Sonic Underground TV Episodes
Sonic Underground Title Screen
Beginnings | Getting to Know You | Harmony or Something | To Catch a Queen | Mobodoon | The Price of Freedom | Underground Masquerade | Tangled Webs | The Deepest Fear | Who Do You Think You Are | The Last Resort | Come Out Wherever You Are | Winner Fakes All | A Hedgehog's Home Is Her Castle | Artifact | Bug! | Sonic Tonic | Friend or Foe? | Head Games | When in Rome | The Jewel in the Crown | Three Hedgehogs and a Baby | Dunesday | Mummy Dearest | The Hedgehog in the Iron Mask | Six Is a Crowd | Wedding Bell Blues | Flying Fortress | No Hedgehog Is an Island | New Echidna in Town | Country Crisis | Haircraft in Space | Healer | Sonia's Choice | The Big Melt | Sleepers | Bartleby the Prisoner | The Art of Destruction | The Pendant | Virtual Danger

Sonic the Hedgehog television shows