Retro Sonic Nexus

From Sonic Retro

Retro Sonic Nexus
Engine: Retro Engine
Credits: The Taxman, Slingerland, Hunter Bridges

Retro Sonic Nexus, also known as Retro Sonic Nex-G or simply Sonic Nex-G internally, is an effort by "The Taxman" (Christian Whitehead), "Slingerland" (Brad Flick) and "Hunter Bridges". It is a merger between three separate fan-games, Retro Sonic, Sonic XG, and Sonic Nexus. Sonic XG is the dominant fangame in the merger, and the levels from Retro Sonic and Sonic Nexus were adapted to the XG style and added to XG's levels. This would've been the first game to now go by the more universal Retro Engine, instead of the Retro-Sonic Engine that was used in previous demos.

According to various sources, due to other major projects (including the 2011 version of Sonic CD), Retro Sonic Nexus ended up being shelved indefinitely, with Sonic XG becoming a standalone game once more. However, most of the soundtrack done for the project (as well Sonic Nexus) can be heard on Hunty's official Soundcloud account.


  • Final Fall
  • Cosmic Chaos
  • Wicked Works
  • Sunken Star
  • Opal Outback
  • Robotic Resort
  • Tyrannic Tower
  • Furious Finale
  • The Doomsday


Game Art


- Before merging the game with Sonic Nexus, the game was going by Retro Sonic XG. An attempt to port over Sonic XG to the then named Retro-Sonic Engine whilst incorporating some levels featured in Retro Sonic (Like Robotic Resort, a revamped version of Egg Garden Zone).

- Most of the assets that were already made for Retro Sonic Nexus originated from Retro Sonic XG, like Final Fall Zone, which can be seen in the Screenshots section above. Aditionally, Splash Hill Zone from Sonic 4: Episode I was added to the game as a test level. Mostly taking its assets from Sonic XG's Palm Paradiso Zone.

External links